Fighting the demon of depression

January 3, 2011 § 1 Comment

I don’t know about you but at times I can really get into a depressive funk. Being creative of course has its incredible highs, but as in everything there is balance, it has its incredible lows. I hit one such low yesterday. My mad cap mind was running ruts in my head. I don’t know about you but when I get into that depressive rant I can really demean, belittle, and terrorize myself. The only thing that kept me above water yesterday and kept me above a sea of tears was repeating a holy word or a word to me that signifies power and the positive. I had read a book about mantras a while back by Eknath Easwaren and I have used the mantra ever since.  Whenever I get in these funks I keep those mad hatter thoughts from my immediate consciousness by repeating my mantra. If the rut is deep, I am more forceful with my  mantra, and if it is an underlying nag I just keep repeating it. If I feel like I am being swallowed up, I write it and repeat it while I write.  It helped me yesterday in my funk, maybe..hopefully it can help you when you get into one of those funks…xo

§ One Response to Fighting the demon of depression

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fighting the demon of depression at Find Inspiration in Everything........

meta

